Some Tender Bread for a Tender Heart

image-1

Father’s Day has always been a ‘mixed-feelings’ kind of day for me even after I encountered Jesus. But as I get to know my real Father more and more, it’s been a real blessing to know that Psalm 23 isn’t a cliche at all. As I see people (regardless of who they are), step-up and take genuine, unadulterated care towards children that they’re raising, I get a hearty feeling. For this coming Father’s Day, I had to the privilege to bake bread for man with a tender heart (my boyfriend’s father).  He’s consistently caring, welcoming,  and easy-going. I love his insight and social commentary. Very cool to see his concern reach out to other people! He likes bread that’s sweet so with the assistance of my boyfriend,  I baked some Amish White Bread. The recipe can be found here at: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/amish-white-bread/

Recipe:

  • 2 cups warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

  • 2/3 cup white sugar

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt

  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

  • 6 cups bread flour

Instead of kneading the dough immediately, the Kitchen Aid was used with the paddle attachment (you can use a dough hook as well) for a consistent base ready to knead.  I like the effect that an egg-wash has on bread and certain pastries. For this, we cracked one egg into a small bowl and scrambled it. Using a medium-sized brush, we brushed the egg on the dough prior to baking it in the oven. The place just filled up with a fresh and sweet bread smell and… Voila! Crisp on the outside, so fluffy with just the right amount of sweetness on the inside!

image-2

Note to self: please wait for the dough to settle/rise a little more before placing in it in the oven. i.e. 15 min

 

Leave a Reply

