Ruffle cake-Make your own

For the “after-party” of my boyfriend’s convocation, I decided to attempt making a ruffle cake with fondant roses. Both were firsts for me but it was less intimidating to tackle than I thought. You can make one as well!

Because he loves matcha and vanilla, it became a matcha green tea vanilla cake with vanilla bean ruffles, and vanilla fondant (or MFF) roses. (A lot of vanilla, I know).

Some steps…

It started with greasing and flouring my 6inch cake topper pan. (Basically wipe a thin layer of room temp butter all over the inside of your pan (use paper towel or a brush). Then add some flour and shake your pan around (in a spot that’s safe i.e. a sink) to spread the flour evenly-a thing layer.)

A note on finding matcha green tea…

  • If you’re in the Toronto area-you need not spend a ridiculous amount of money on a small jar of matcha powder, some good bubble tea stores (i.e. Ten Ren) sells it for a more reasonable price, and gives you a lot more than some health food stores.

Once my batter was ready, I filled the pan 2/3 of the way and saved the rest of the batter… what I did will be in posted in another blog. I placed it in the oven that was preheated at 350 degrees F. Bake for the time specified-use a toothpick to make sure it’s ready (the toothpick will be crumb free). Remove from the oven, cool down only for 10 minutes (any longer and it starts to stick). Pop it out of the pan. I waited until it was cool to cut the chunky cake in half to make a layer cake (2-layers).

OK so once the cake’s fully cooled down you can decide to use it right away or store it for later use (that’s what I did in the freezer wrapped tightly in plastic wrap and then foil to seal the moisture.) I find that it doesn’t make a difference when cakes are freshly iced or frozen. Both taste great and the integrity of the cake remains the same.

Ice Ice Baby…Buttercream tips…

If you’re making homemade buttercream, wait until the butter is FULLY at room temperature-do not skip this step but speed up the process if anything with some heat.) I LOVE THIS RECIPE FOR A CREAMY BUTTERCREAM: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/quick-vanilla-buttercream-frosting-recipe.html

  • “3 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons whipping cream”

To match the consistency that I wanted, I added icing sugar accordingly. A medium consistency should do just fine (When you turn the spatula with some icing on it upside-down nothing should move).

image-3
“Dirty ice” your cake by adding a thin layer of buttercream evenly all over.

Pop your cake in the Freezer for a good 20-30 minutes (depending on the filling and temperature of the cake, you may want to leave it in for longer.) What you want is your icing to be SOLID.

Take it out of the freezer and apply another thin layer of buttercream so it has something to stick to!

Now the most frightful part… the ruffles (EEP.) With whatever straight-edge tool you want to use, draw or imprint lines 1-2 inches apart all over the cake.. like so:

image-4

Unfortunately, didn’t take a picture before during the ruffle process (my hands were shaking and a bit sore-you’ve been warned).

Make the ruffles:

Fill your piping bag with a petal tip with your buttercream. (folding the sides over a cup before filling helps). To make the ruffle effect, you have to use a petal tip for this! I used the Wilton 103 tip but any petal tip will do just great! Make sure the wider part of the tip, faces the cake so the outside is fluffy and delicate looking.

The lines that you drew are a guide for your ruffles! Point the petal tip down with the wide side on the edge of the cake. Squeeze your piping bag starting at one of the bottom lines in a zig-zag position between the 2 lines starting from the bottom of the cake all the way up! I stopped at the edge and did all of the sides before doing the top.

 

happygrad

I didn’t do the best job staying in my lines half-way through so the ruffles were a bit off-centered on the top. If I were to do the cake again, I would stick to the lines that I drew… I guess in life, sometimes there are moments when you need to stay within boundaries. 😉 This was one of those moments.

The fondant roses were hand-made without ANY tools! You can make them too! Will blog about this later… perhaps when I get over this sinus/cold/flu what have you, and after my data analysis for school…

Hope this helps in some fashion. Enjoy making you’re own ruffle cake! Let me know if you have any questions!

 

Blessings!

❤

 

 

One thought on “Ruffle cake-Make your own

Leave a Reply

